Candidates File for Statewide Office, Congress, General Assembly

Mar 29, 2024

The month-long candidate filing period ended on March 26, with two statewide candidates switching their potential offices on the last day of filing. On March 26, House Speaker Dean Plocher (R-St. Louis) filed for Secretary of State when he had previously filed for Lt. Governor. And Sen. Mary Elizabeth Coleman (R-Arnold), who had filed for Congress, 3rd District, joined Plocher that day as a candidate in the Secretary of State’s race.

Because candidates withdrew late in four races for Congress, four state House of Representatives races, and the Lt. Governor’s race, filings for those particular offices were reopened April 2-5 for persons interested.

It’s going to be an interesting election season. Here’s a breakdown:

For U.S. Senator: Republican incumbent Josh Hawley vs. four Democrats and a Libertarian.

For Governor: Nine Republicans, including Sen. Bill Eigel, Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft, and Lt. Governor Mike Kehoe vs. five Democrats including Rep. Crystal Quade and Mike Hamra, both of Springfield, and a Libertarian.

For Lt. Governor: Six Republicans, including Sen. Holly Rehder and Sen. Lincoln Hough vs. two Democrats and a Libertarian.

For Secretary of State: Eight Republicans, including Greene County Clerk Shane Schoeller, Sen. Denny Hoskins, Rep. Adam Schwadron, Rep. Plocher, and Sen. Coleman vs. three Democrats and a Libertarian.

For State Treasurer: Republican incumbent Vivek Malek, Rep. Cody Smith, Sen. Andrew Koenig and three other Republicans vs. one Democrat and one Libertarian.

For Attorney General: Republican incumbent Andrew Bailey and Republican Will Scharf vs. Democrat Elad Gross and a Libertarian.

All members of Congress from Missouri are running for reelection except for U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R) in the 3rd District. Eight Republicans have filed in that race, including former State Sen. Bob Onder, State Rep. Justin Hicks, and former State Sen. Kurt Schaefer. Two Democrats and a Libertarian also filed.

U.S. Rep. Ann Wagner (R), 2nd District, is running for reelection and may line up in the general election in November against Ray Hartmann (D), founder of The Riverfront Times in St. Louis. Two Republicans, two Democrats, and a Libertarian are in the 2nd District race.

The 34-member Missouri Senate could see the most members leaving in 20 years since term limits began, as at least nine members will be leaving, and four incumbents are being challenged in their primaries. On the ballot this year are 17 of the 34 Senate seats. Six senators are leaving due to term limits: Senators Lauren Arthur, Eigel, Hoskins, Koenig, John Rizzo, and Caleb Rowden. Sen. Elaine Gannon is retiring, Sen. Holly Rehder is running for Lt. Governor, and Sen. Karla Eslinger will be the state’s Commissioner of Education on June 1.

One interesting race appeared Tuesday when former State Rep. Chuck Bayse (R) filed to take on Democrat Stephen Webber in Senate District 19, Boone County.

All 163 seats in the Missouri House of Representatives are up for grabs with 23 Representatives leaving due to term limits. Seventeen House Republicans and 13 House Democrats do not have primary opponents.

A number of House members are seeking to move to the Senate, including: Senate District 3, Rep. Mike Henderson (R) vs. Rep. Cyndi Buchheit-Courtway (R) in the primary; Senate District 11, Democrat Rep. Robert Sauls running unopposed in the primary, with three Republicans in the race; Senate District 15, former Rep. David Gregory vs. two other Republicans; Senate District 17, Rep. Maggie Nurrenbern (D) vs. former Rep. Jerry Nolte (R); Senate District 21, Rep. Kurtis Gregory vs. Rep. Doug Richey, both Republicans; Senate District 23, Rep. Adam Schnelting, Rep. Phil Christofanelli, Rich Chrismer and Dan O’Connell, all Republicans; Senate District 27, Rep. Jamie Burger, Rep. Chris Dinkins and Jacob Turner, all Republicans; Senate District 31, Rep. Mike Haffner and Rep. Dan Houx vs. incumbent Sen. Rick Brattin, all Republicans; and Senate District 33, Rep. Travis Smith (R) vs. Rep. Brad Hudson (R).